A new national electron microprobe facility

Wednesday 19 November 2014

In the latest round of ARC grant funding, A/Prof Greg Yaxley, Prof Joerg Hermann, Dr Andrew Berry, Prof Hugh O’Neill, and Dr Robert Rapp from RSES were part of a team of scholars from 7 institutions across Australia that were awarded funding to build a new national electron microprobe facility.

The new facility will be partly funded by the Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities (LIEF) scheme, which provides funding for research infrastructure, equipment and facilities to eligible organizations to support research. Significant funding was also provided by ANU and by the partner Universities and Geoscience Australia.

The LIEF grant will help fund the acquisition of two electron microprobes. One will be housed at the Research School of Earth Sciences (ANU) and the other at University of Melbourne. The new national electron microprobe facility will be developed in partnership with University of Melbourne, Geoscience Australia, Monash University, University of Wollongong, La Trobe University, and Federation University Australia.

“The new electron microprobe facility will support an impressive variety of research including experimental, igneous and metamorphic petrology and geochronology. It will foster increased collaboration between partner organizations including universities and major geoscience institutes”, said A/Prof Greg Yaxley.

Updated:  26 May 2019/Responsible Officer:  RSES Webmaster/Page Contact:  RSES Webmaster