Skip Navigation | ANU Home | Search ANU | Directories
The Australian National University
Research School of Earth Sciences
Printer Friendly Version of this Document
Untitled Document

Gawler Craton Array

Michelle Salmon, Brian Kennett

Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra, ACT 0200, Australia


Figure 1.

As part of a wider AUSCOPE project 35 short-period seismometers have been deployed across the Gawler Craton in South Australia. Station spacing is approximately 50 km and the area covered runs from Port Lincoln in the Eyre Peninsular to Leigh Creek just west of the Flinders Ranges (figure 1.). Stations will record continuous three component data for a period of 8 months. The primary aim of this array is to increase data coverage in this part of Australia for seismic imaging. There are only two permanent seismographs in the region covered by this array. Data from this array will eventually be publicly available providing the information required to build basic images of the earth structure in the region.

The instruments are capable of recording data from both local and distant earthquakes. This area of South Australia is seismically active and local earthquake data recorded on this array (figure 2.) will help improve our ability to locate and characterize these events. Distant earthquakes will be used to produce tomographic images of the crust and upper mantle in the region.  Receiver functions constructed from the three component data can will also be used to locate seismic discontinuities such as the crust-mantle boundary.

The eastern edge of the Gawler craton is currently of particular interest for the supply of geothermal energy and there are many ongoing industry projects in the area. Geoscience Australia completed a deep seismic reflection transect across the top of the Eyre Peninsular just prior to the deployment of the Gawler array. This array will provide broad scale earth imaging required for more detailed studies.


Figure 2: