SSCUA home page Who is involved? Project overview Station locations Links to related sites Fieldwork photos Acknowledgments


The current deployment of seismic stations covers the regions either side of the Amery Ice Shelf/Lambert Glacier between Mawson and Davis Stations. It extends as far south as Komsomolskiy Peak, the furthest south exposed rock in Australian Antarctic Territory.

The seismic stations are solar-powered and record until the Antarctic light fades (around April). They then shut down until the light returns (around September) the following spring.

Station codes are as follows:

JACK= Jacklyn Peak
BVLK= Beaver Lake
REIN= Reinbolt Hills
CRES= Mount Cresswell
NMES= Northern Mawson Escarpment
KOMS= Komsomolskiy Peak


For more information on the SSCUA project, contact