Skip Navigation | ANU Home | Search ANU
The Australian National University
Research School of Earth Sciences
Earth Physics

WOMBAT Seismic Array

WOMBAT is a transportable seismic array experiment that is gradually achieving high density passive seismic coverage of eastern Australia. To date, over 600 sites have been occupied as a result of 15 separate array deployments. Station spacings vary between 15 km in Tasmania and 50 km in mainland Australia. The first deployments began out of Monash University and the University of Adelaide in 1998. In 2001, the seismology group at the Research School of Earth Sciences, ANU, embarked on the TIGGER project in Tasmania, and for the last decade have been progressively increasing the size of the region covered. Future plans include two new 50 element arrays deployed in northern New South Wales and southern Queensland in the next two years, which will bring the cumulative array size to over 700. Between 1998-2005, vertical component short period stations were the standard instrument used by WOMBAT; these changed to three component short period in 2006. Future deployments of WOMBAT may use compact broadband sensors in order to record more of the available seismic wavefield. Despite the lack of long period information, WOMBAT data have been successfully used in teleseismic tomography, crustal receiver functions, ambient noise tomography, attenuation tomography, and joint inversion of active and passive data. For more information, click on the links below.



TIGGER sub-array

SEAL sub-array